Community Impact

Prairieland EDC management and staff engage in activities that benefit the region. As a group, we work to promote activites that benefit the communities we live in and surrounding communities as well.

Prairieland EDC Scholarship

2013 Prairieland EDC Scholarship Recipient Adam Peters - Montevideo, MN

2012 Prairieland EDC Scholarship Recipient Beatrice Hagert - Granite Falls, MN

2011 Prairieland EDC Scholarship Recipient Christian Klein - Marshall, MN

2010 Prairieland EDC Scholarship Recipient Samuel Guetter - Wabasso, MN

Prairieland EDC is proud to announce that Adam Peters of Montevideo, Minnesota has been awarded the 2013 Prairieland EDC Scholarship. This year's scholarship applicant winner came from the business Barwick Manufacturing & SRK, LLC in Montevideo, Minnesota. The Prairieland EDC Scholarship awarded was a $2,000.00 Scholarship.

The original Prairieland EDC Scholarship was created in 2001 as a way for Dr. Ralph W. Knapp, former Minnesota West Community and Technical College President, to demonstrate his dedication to education and to the region. In 2008, Prairieland EDC initiated the 25th Anniversary Scholarships in an effort to give back to the small businesses and the region they have served for the past 25 years. On May 14, 2009, Prairieland EDC awarded 26 senior high school students from Minnesota and Eastern South Dakota Scholarships during Prairieland EDC’s 25th Anniversary Celebration.

It is the businesses that have made Prairieland EDC successful and in looking forward, Prairieland EDC wanted to continue to give back in order to see the future generation achieve similar success in whatever they elect to pursue. In looking for ways to continue making a difference, Prairieland EDC has decided to continue the Prairieland EDC Scholarship that evolved from the original Prairieland EDC Scholarship and the 25th Anniversary Scholarship.